CARA team received the 2022 COSA award from UC Berkeley Chancellor

The industry partnership team of California Research Alliance (CARA) by BASF wins the 2022 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA) awarded by UC Berkeley Chancellor Carol T. Christ. Lisette Garcia and Lynne Hollyer are mentioned:

“For their dedication and significant contribution to achieve the central missions of the California Research Alliance (CARA), a unique research center and partnership between academia and industry to bridge the gap between research and innovation. And for their exceptional organizational skills, as coordinating multiple agreements at any given time requires a strong attention to detail, exceptional communication with partners across different universities, while making sure colleagues experience exceptional service, therefore enhancing UC Berkeley’s reputation among the academia and industry community. CARA operated under one of a kind “Hub and Spokes” business model with Berkeley as the “hub” and other California research institutes as the “Spokes”. Lynne and Lissette have developed a protocol that can now be used as a guideline and model for future industry-university collaboration.”

Warmest congratulations!

The full list of winners can be accessed here:

CARA co-director Omar Yaghi elected to the National Academy of Sciences



Omar Yaghi, Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry, co-director of CARA, was announced today as one of a 100 new members, and 25 foreign members, of the National Academy of Sciences. The election is in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) was established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. The NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research.

The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. Nearly 500 members of the NAS have won Nobel Prizes, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1914, is today one of the premier international journals publishing the results of original research.